UTHCT’s Dr. Varsha Taskar receives $10,000 award from the CHEST Foundation; Dr. Steven Brown elected to fellowship in the American College of Physicians

Tuesday, August 8, 2006

Two physicians with The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler recently achieved distinction in their respective fields. Varsha Taskar, MD, an assistant professor of medicine at UTHSCT who specializes in pulmonary medicine, has been awarded the 2006 CHEST Foundation Clinical Research in Women’s Health Award. Steven Brown, UTHSCT’s chief medical officer, has been elected to fellowship in the American College of Physicians.

As the recipient of the clinical research award, Dr. Taskar has been awarded a $10,000 grant to fund her research proposal in the area of women’s health. Dr. Taskar is investigating the association between hormones, anxiety, and depression and early atherosclerosis, a chronic disease characterized by abnormal thickening of artery walls due to the buildup of fatty deposits of cholesterol.

Dr. Taskar is board certified in pulmonary disease and internal medicine and has a special interest in sleep disorders and interstitial lung diseases. She completed a fellowship in pulmonary/critical care medicine at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston before joining UTHSCT in 2001. In addition to her MD degree, she has a Master of Public Health degree from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland.

The CHEST Foundation is the philanthropic arm of the American College of Chest Physicians, a 16,000-member, international society. The foundation offers prevention and education programs and provides resources in cardiopulmonary and critical care medicine.

Dr. Brown is board certified in internal medicine, pulmonary medicine, and critical care medicine. Before coming to UTHSCT in spring 2003, he was the regional vice president for medical affairs for Catholic Healthcare West, Kern Service area. Dr. Brown also held various academic positions at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. He was the interim director of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at UTHSC at Houston and associate professor of medicine with tenure.

The American College of Physicians is the largest society of internists in the world. Fellowship is an honorary designation given to recognize ongoing individual service and contributions to the practice of medicine. To be a fellow, a physician must be board certified in internal medicine; have been recognized by other internists for excellence and skill in medical practice, teaching, or research; and have demonstrated continuing scholarship and professional achievements.

NOTICE: Protected health information is subject to electronic disclosure.