Nine graduate from UTHCT’s Family Medicine and Pharmacy Practice residency programs

Thursday, July 13, 2006

The Family Medicine Residency and Pharmacy Practice Residency programs at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler recently celebrated the graduation of nine residents.

The seven Family Medicine Residency Program graduates are: Eric Beadle, MD; Jennifer Bishop, MD; Darin Charles, MD; Jeffrey Leach, MD; C. Scott Patton, MD; Jeremy Smith, MD; and Alka Shirodkar, MD, said Donna Mann, administrative services manager for the Department of Family Medicine. They were honored June 16 with a graduation banquet at Hollytree Country Club.

Five of the graduates are entering private practice in Texas: Dr. Beadle in Grand Prairie, Dr. Bishop in Frisco, Dr. Charles in Mansfield, Dr. Leach in Lindale, and Dr. Smith in Nacogdoches. Dr. Patton is entering private practice in Shreveport, and Dr. Shirodkar has not yet made a decision on where she will practice.

Michael O. Fleming, MD, past president of the American Academy of Family Physicians, addressed the graduates at the June 16 banquet. He stressed how the discipline of family medicine benefits patients by providing them with a “personal medical home.” Dr. Fleming also shared his philosophy of patient care as “doing the right thing, but only the right thing, at the right time for every patient.”

Several awards were given at the banquet. Dr. Patton and Dr. Charles were both named Resident of the Year. Dr. Richard Viken, chair of UTHSCT’s Department of Family Medicine, received the Faculty of the Year award. The Downtown Preceptor of the Year was Dr. Terry Woodard, Dr. Leach was Teacher of the Year and Resident’s Resident, and Steven Rhame, an LVN at the Health Center, was Nurse of the Year.

The Health Center’s Family Medicine Residency Program began in 1985. It is a three-year program and has graduated 111 family physicians so far. More than half of these have stayed in East Texas.

The two Pharmacy Practice Residency Program graduates are Amy Collins, Pharm.D., and Lisa Skariah, Pharm.D. They were honored at a June 24 commencement dinner.

Both received certificates of appreciation for their dedication to community service. Dr. Collins was honored for organizing public health events, and Dr. Skariah was honored for volunteering at shelters set up last fall for evacuees from Hurricane Rita.

Dr. Collins has taken a position with Seton Medical Center in Austin, and Dr. Skariah will be working at Presbyterian Hospital in Dallas.

The Pharmacy Practice Residency Program began in September 2003. It is a one-year residency program for pharmacists who have completed their doctor of pharmacy degree and seek further clinical experience following pharmacy school. The program has graduated four residents so far.

NOTICE: Protected health information is subject to electronic disclosure.