UTHCT's Center for Sleep Disorders gains accreditation

Friday, May 18, 2007

The American Academy of Sleep Medicine recently announced that UTHSCT’s Center for Sleep Disorders has achieved accreditation. This accreditation is for a period of five years.

The AASM is the national accrediting body for sleep disorder centers and laboratories for sleep-related breathing disorders. Through its certification process, the AASM identifies sleep medicine providers who offer the highest quality of medical care for people with sleep problems.

Its standards ensure that sleep medicine providers have proficiency in areas such as testing procedures and policies, patient safety and follow-up, and physician and staff training.

“After a site visit in March, AASM representatives were pleased with the Health Center’s experienced sleep diagnostics and therapeutics team. They recognized UTHSCT involvement since 1985 in educating both regional medical professionals and East Texas residents about sleep disorders,” said James Stocks, MD, medical director of the sleep center.

Besides Dr. Stocks, UTHSCT physicians Dr. Varsha Taskar, a pulmonologist; Dr. Susan Barrows, a specialist in pediatric pulmonology and allergies; and Dr. Rodolfo Amaro, a specialist in pediatric pulmonology and allergies, also practice in the sleep center. Kim Hazel is the laboratory supervisor.

NOTICE: Protected health information is subject to electronic disclosure.