UTHCT’s Family Medicine Residency Program graduates seven; two Occupational Medicine residents graduate

Tuesday, July 17, 2007

The Family Medicine Residency Program at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler recently celebrated the graduation of seven residents, while the Occupational Medicine Residency Program graduated two residents.

The seven Family Medicine Residency Program graduates are: Clint Carter, MD; Brenda Hinton, MD; Michal Phillips, MD; James Ryman, MD; Jenny Saurette, MD; Allison Tobola, MD; and Ben Udall, MD, said Donna Mann, administrative services manager for the Department of Family Medicine. They were honored June 22 with a graduation banquet at Hollytree Country Club.

Three of the graduates are entering private practice in Texas: Dr. Carter in Jacksonville, and Dr. Phillips and Dr. Saurette in Tyler. Dr. Hinton will be practicing in Alaska, and Dr. Udall in Colorado.

Dr. Tobola is beginning a fellowship in sports medicine in South Carolina and Dr. Ryman is entering a fellowship in emergency medicine in Tennessee.

Douglas Curran, MD, president of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians, addressed the graduates at the June 22 banquet.

Several awards were given at the banquet. Dr. Saurette and Dr. Tobola were both named Resident of the Year. Chiagozie Nwasaruba, MD, a UTHSCT associate professor of medicine, received the Faculty of the Year award.

The Downtown Preceptor of the Year was urologist Leonard DeCarlo, MD.

In addition, Dr. Saurette was named Resident’s Resident. Kavin Marcum, RN, and Jim Cannon, RN, shared the Nurse of the Year award.

Wilbur Avery, MD, professor emeritus in the Department of Family Medicine, was honored for his 26-year contribution to the training of the family medicine residents.

The Health Center’s Family Medicine Residency Program began in 1985. It is a three-year program and has graduated 118 family physicians so far. More than half of these have stayed in East Texas.

The two Occupational Medicine Residency Program graduates are Aman Dhillon, MD, MS, and Lester Tarbutton, MD, MPH.

Dr. Dhillon began the residency program in 2005. During his two years of residency, he completed a master’s in environmental science and a one-year practicum.

Dr. Dhillon has joined UTHSCT as an assistant professor of occupational and environmental medicine in the Department of Occupational Health Sciences.

Dr. Tarbutton, who has a master’s in public health, received practical hands-on and day-to-day experience in the field of occupational medicine during his one-year residency at UTHSCT.

He is now the medical director of the Concentra, Inc., clinic in Amarillo. Concentra is a chain of occupational health clinics.

Dr. Dhillon and Dr. Tarbutton will be honored during the program’s next official commencement ceremony, scheduled for summer 2008.

The Occupational Medicine Residency Program accepted its first resident in 1996. The two-year program is one of four in Texas.

Twenty physicians now have graduated from the program with more than 60 percent of them remaining in Texas.

NOTICE: Protected health information is subject to electronic disclosure.