UT Health Science Center at Tyler honors 10 employees for providing outstanding services to patients

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Ten employees of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler recently were honored for providing exceptional service to patients.

Anne DeWitt, RN, MSN, house supervisor in Patient Service Administration; Lonna Shaffer, RN, certified gastroenterology nurse in the Gastroenterology Lab; and Narda Lewis, RN, BSN, nurse clinician on the fifth floor nursing staff, received the Prince Outstanding Caregiver Award.

In addition, Toyua Akers, outpatient clerk in Cardiology Services; Courtney Booth, cashier in the Outpatient Pharmacy; Cindy Broadway, LBSW, social worker in Ambulatory Services; Michele Campbell, radiologic technologist registered in radiology and MRI and MRI supervisor in Radiology; Keith Fields, phlebotomist in Pathology; Regina Peavy, patient access specialist in Central Registration; and Bernetha Walker, phlebotomist in Pathology, received the Patient First Award.

The award-winners are chosen based upon recommendations from grateful patients and/or UTHSCT employees.

In appreciation for a job well done, each winner receives a $500 cash award. Their names also will be added to the Outstanding Caregiver or Patient First plaques located in UTHSCT’s main lobby.

The awards are funded by an endowment created by Ralph and Mary Prince to reward UTHSCT employees for providing outstanding patient care.

NOTICE: Protected health information is subject to electronic disclosure.