Six UTHSCT medical professionals achieve distinction in their respective fields

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Six medical professionals at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler recently achieved distinction in their respective fields.

They are Barbara Brown-Elliott, M.S.; Kent Davis, MD; Dudley Goulden, MD; Nasir Hussain, MD; Ted McLemore, MD, Ph.D.; and Rakesh Srivastava, Ph.D.

Brown-Elliott received the Gardner Middlebrook Award from Becton Dickinson Diagnostics in recognition of her significant contributions nationally and internationally to the study of mycobacteria, microorganisms that cause various types of disease in animals and humans.

She was selected for this award by her peers and an awards committee. Brown-Elliott, research assistant professor of microbiology and supervisor of UTHSCT’s Mycobacteria/Nocardia Lab, received the honor at the annual meeting of the American Society for Microbiology, which was held in Philadelphia in May.

Brown-Elliott, who came to UTHSCT in 1988, also has been appointed to full membership on the Clinical and Laboratory Standards Subcommittee on Antimycobacterial Susceptibility Testing, which sets international standards for all laboratory testing.

She has been an advisor to the committee since 1997.

Dr. Davis, medical director for UTHSCT’s Center for Healthy Aging, was elected a Fellow in the American College of Physicians.

Fellows are elected by their peers in recognition of their personal integrity, excellence in internal medicine, professional accomplishments, demonstrated scholarship, and community leadership.

In Dr. Davis’ case, he was recognized for developing the geriatric program at the core of the Center for Healthy Aging.

Dr. Davis, a professor in the Department of Medicine, joined the Health Science Center in 1989. He is board certified in internal medicine with an added qualification in geriatric medicine.

Dr. Goulden recently was designated as a specialist in clinical hypertension by the American Society of Hypertension.

This distinction recognizes Dr. Goulden’s expert skills and knowledge in managing hypertension – high blood pressure – in his patients.

Only 69 physicians in Texas currently hold this designation. In Tyler, just two physicians have achieved this distinction: Dr. Goulden and UTHSCT hospitalist Chiagozie Nwasuruba, MD.

Dr. Goulden, who joined UTHSCT in 2002, is board certified in internal medicine, cardiology, and nuclear medicine. He is a professor of medicine in the Department of Medicine.

Dr. Hussain, medical director for clinical operations, received a Kaiser Permanente scholarship to attend the Institute for Healthcare Improvement program, “Cracking the Code to Hospital-Wide Patient Flow,” to be held July 23-24 in Boston, Mass.

The institute is an independent nonprofit organization focused on improving health care throughout the world. It promotes concepts that improve patient care and helps health care systems put those ideas into action.

Dr. Hussain is a professor of medicine in the Department of Medicine.

Dr. McLemore, professor of medicine and director of interventional pulmonology at UTHSCT, is helping to organize the structure of the 16th World Congress for Bronchology/ 16th World Congress for Bronchoesophagology, set for June 21-23, 2010, in Mannheim, Germany.

Bronchology is the study and treatment of diseases that affect the trachea, or windpipe, and the bronchi, the two major divisions of the trachea that lead to the left and right lungs.

Bronchoesophagology is the branch of medicine concerned with the bronchi and the esophagus.

Dr. McLemore, who is board certified in internal medicine, is one of two physicians from Texas to serve on the international scientific advisory committee for the invitation-only conference.

He will help choose topics for different sessions and speakers and review abstracts of papers submitted for presentation at the conference. Dr. McLemore joined UTHSCT in 2007.

Dr. Srivastava, professor of biochemistry, has been appointed to a three-year term on the Department of Veteran Affairs Joint Biomedical Laboratory Research and Development and Clinical Science Research and Development Scientific Merit Review Board.

As a member of the board, Dr. Srivastava will evaluate the quality of research proposals submitted to the VA’s Merit Review Award Program.

This program provides funding for basic, preclinical biomedical and behavioral studies, as well as clinical studies of disorders and diseases that affect the health of veterans. Dr. Srivastava came to UTHSCT in 2005.

For 60 years, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler has provided excellent patient care and cutting-edge treatments, specializing in pulmonary disease, cancer, heart disease, primary care, and the disciplines that support them. With an operating budget of more than $125 million and biomedical research funding that exceeds $12 million annually, UTHSCT has a major economic impact on East Texas. Its two medical residency programs – in family medicine and occupational medicine – provide doctors for many communities in East Texas and beyond.

NOTICE: Protected health information is subject to electronic disclosure.