UTHSCT president named to committee that will help choose leader of UT MD Anderson

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

AUSTIN – Kirk A. Calhoun, MD, president of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler, is one of 12 people appointed to the committee that will advise The University of Texas System Board of Regents on the selection of the next president of the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.

Board of Regents Chairman Colleen McHugh named the members of the committee on Thursday, Jan. 6, 2011.

The committee will make recommendations to the board on possible successors to President John Mendelsohn, M.D., who announced Dec. 6 his plans to step down as M.D. Anderson president when his successor is installed.

Mendelsohn, who has served as the president of the institution for almost 15 years, will remain on the faculty as co-director of its new Institute for Personalized Cancer Therapy.

"Widely regarded and repeatedly recognized as the nation’s top cancer center, UT M.D. Anderson serves a critical role in meeting the health care and educational needs of Texas, the nation and the world, and it has achieved international prominence for the excellence of its clinical, research and educational programs," Regents’ Chairman Colleen McHugh said.

"The advisory committee includes outstanding representatives of all the constituencies of the institution, UT System, and the community and I am confident these individuals will do an excellent job of screening candidates as the search is conducted for this very important leadership position," she said.

The committee will be chaired by Kenneth I. Shine, M.D., executive vice chancellor for health affairs in the UT System.

Besides Dr. Calhoun, other advisory committee members are: Regents’ Vice Chairman Janiece Longoria of Houston, Regent Printice L. Gary of Dallas, and David E. Daniel, Ph.D., president, UT Dallas.

MD Anderson-affiliated committee members are Edward F. Jackson, Ph.D., department of imaging physics; Louise C. Strong, M.D., department of genetics; Borje S. Andersson, M.D., Ph.D., department of stem cell transplantation; Robert C. Bast, Jr., M.D., vice president of translational research; Melinda Garza, president, UT MD Anderson Student Congress; Peter Hu, Ph.D., alumni and faculty association president; and Joel Helmke, division administrator, cancer prevention.

For more information, visit the UT System website.

For 60 years, The University of Texas Health Science Center has provided excellent patient care and cutting-edge treatment, specializing in pulmonary disease, cancer, heart disease, primary care, and the disciplines that support them. UTHSCT’s annual operating budget of $125 million represents a major economic impact of over $287 million to the Northeast Texas region. In FY 2009, scientists in the Center for Biomedical Research were awarded 80 competitive grants and contracts totaling $14.6 million. As the academic medical center for Northeast Texas, its graduate medical education program – with residencies in family medicine and occupational medicine – provide doctors for many communities throughout the region and beyond.

NOTICE: Protected health information is subject to electronic disclosure.