Awards & Recognition

Kevin Moore, EAC Member

Kevin won the 2016 American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers’ (ASABE) Boyd-Scott Graduate Research Award for his Center-funded research on grain bin entrapment and rescue.

Jennifer Conner, EAC Member 

Jennifer won the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Community Partnership Award in 2016.

Steve Shelton, EAC Member

Steve was the 2015 recipient of the Louis H. Gorin Award for Outstanding Service to Rural Health by the National Rural Health Association.

Ann Carruth, Principal Investigator

Ann was invited to serve on the Safety and Occupational Health Study Section of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Bob Williams, EAC Member

Bob Williams, PhD, was selected to the Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators for the Texas A&M University System. He was inducted in February 2014.

James Wright, EAC Member

James Wright, DVM was awarded the Outstanding Alumnus Award from Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine in 2013. In 2011, Dr. Wright was honored with the Clinical Referral and Consultation Award from the Texas Academy of Veterinary Practice and the Helwig-Jennings Award from the American College of Veterinary Preventative Medicine.

Jeffrey Levin, Provost

At the 2013 Texas College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine meeting held in conjunction with the Texas Medical Association’s annual Tex Med meeting, Jeffrey Levin, MD, MSPH was awarded the highest honor, the prestigious Marcus Key Award. Dr. Levin was also one of just 6 physicians to receive the 2013 TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine, Silver Level. The award is a special recognition for academic physicians who are excellent teachers, role models and medical professionals.

Francisco Cerda, EAC Member

The Board of Directors of MAFO, a National Partnership of Farmworker and Rural Organizations, has selected Mr. Francisco Cerda as the recipient of the 2012 MAFO Life Time Achievement Award. This honor is bestowed by MAFO to persons who demonstrate a long history of dedication beyond the regular work schedule of one’s employment and to persons who work tirelessly on behalf of the American farmworker.

Mark Shirley, EAC Member

The LSU AgCenter honored six individuals, including Abbeville resident Mark Shirley, and four teams of faculty members for outstanding service to extension and research at a ceremony on Dec. 2, 2011. Coastal area agent Mark Shirley received the Extension Excellence Award for his dedication to helping people in southwest Louisiana protect and earn a living off the marshes and waterways in his community.

Robert Hagevoort, Ph.D., EAC Member

Robert Hagevoort, PhD, of New Mexico State University, was appointed to New Mexico State University’s $1 million Endowed Dairy Chair. Dr. Hagevoort, an Extension dairy specialist in Clovis, N.M., will use his position to address specific needs of the dairy industry – and also build upon and strengthen NMSU’s current dairy program. NMSU Announcement

Francisco Soto Mas, MD, Ph.D., MPH, EAC Member

Francisco Soto Mas, MD, Ph.D., MPH, received the Outstanding Performance Award from the Office of Research and Sponsored Projects at the University of Texas at El Paso for outstanding performance in securing external funding in May 2011.

The SW Ag Centerreceived the Outstanding Program Award from the Texas Rural Health Association for “Right from the Start: Safety Awareness for the Next Generation of Livestock Producers”, a livestock handling DVD.
The Pesticide Safety Education Workshop received the 2009 Outstanding Program Award from the Texas Rural Health Association. This 4-hour highly participatory workshop introduces several teaching tools for pesticide safety education and gives promotores the opportunity to exhibit skills and knowledge transfer through group presentations.