RHP Plan & Stakeholder Resources

RHP Plan

Each Regional Healthcare Partnership must have one anchoring entity to convene stakeholders, guide the development of the RHP plan, and report on the progress of the entire region to HHSC and CMS. UT Health Science Center serves as the anchor for 28 counties that make up Region 1. This includes:

  • Anderson
  • Bowie
  • Camp
  • Cass
  • Cherokee
  • Delta
  • Fannin
  • Franklin
  • Freestone
  • Gregg
  • Harrison
  • Henderson
  • Hopkins
  • Houston
  • Hunt
  • Lamar
  • Marion
  • Morris
  • Panola
  • Rains
  • Red River
  • Rusk
  • Smith
  • Titus
  • Trinity
  • Upshur
  • Van Zandt
  • Wood

View the Texas RHP map.

RHP Plan Development

Multiple public meetings and public hearings were held in Region 1 throughout the development of the regional plan. Meetings were open to the public, recorded, and the video and presentations from the meetings are archived here.

A regional health plan for the 28 county region in Northeast Texas was developed and submitted to CMS for their formal review in March 2013. View the RHP 1 Plan.

Since submission of the March 2013 plan, further review and implementation has resulted in numerous plan modifications, refinement of outcome measures, and other improvements.  During fall 2013, eligible performing providers were afforded one final opportunity to propose additional DSRIP projects to be implemented on a three-year basis.  RHP 1 followed the process outlined by HHSC for the review and approval for eight additional projects.  Following a mid-point assessment in spring 2014, ten projects were formally withdrawn from the RHP 1 Plan.

Updated documents to reflect these changes can be downloaded here:

RHP 1 Plan Modification (New 3-Year Projects; December 2013)

RHP 1 Organization (Dec 2016)

Executive Overview (May 2015)

RHP 1 Contacts (December 2016)

RHP 1 Projects by Type and Target Population (May 2015)

RHP 1 Participation Certifications (May 2015)

RHP 1 Providers and Stakeholders

  • Paris-Lamar County Health Department
  • Northeast Texas Public Health District
  • Andrews Center
  • Burke Center
  • Community Healthcore
  • Lakes Regional MHMR Center
  • Texoma Community Center
  • East Texas Medical Center
  • Christus St. Michael Health System
  • Good Shepherd Health System
  • Hopkins County Memorial Hospital
  • Houston County Medical Center
  • Hunt Regional Healthcare
  • Longview Regional Medical Center
  • Palestine Regional Medical Center
  • Red River Regional Hospital
  • Rusk State Hospital
  • Titus Regional Medical Center
  • Trinity Mother Frances
  • Wadley Regional Medical Center
  • UT Health Science Center at Tyler

Community Needs

A community needs assessment, drawing from data collected from federal and state governmental agencies, academic studies, and local providers, was completed to highlight the region’s most pressing needs. After considering the data available to the region, stakeholders agreed that the most pressing community needs in Northeast Texas are the following:

  • Insufficient access to primary and specialty health care services
  • Insufficient access to mental and behavioral health services
  • High rates of chronic disease, including diabetes, heart disease, asthma, obesity, and cancer
  • High costs due to potentially preventable hospitalizations
  • Inappropriate emergency department utilization
  • Efficiency in and effectiveness of health care delivery

View the complete Community Needs Assessment, as submitted in the RHP 1 Plan.